About Clarksville, MD

Nestled in the heart of Howard County, Clarksville is an affluent community that boasts some of the most expensive homes on the East Coast. Named after William Clark – a farmer who owned much of the land on which the town now lies – Clarksville has a rich history dating back to 1851 when it served as a postal stop. Today, the town is known for its high property values and its proximity to some of the wealthiest communities in the United States. If you’re looking for a place to call home that comes with all the bells and whistles, Clarksville is certainly worth considering!

HThe U.S. Census Bureau reports that Clarksville District 5 has a population of 56,239, with an average income of $195,124 and a median income of $160,606. The village of River Hill, which is part of the Rouse Company development of Columbia, is adjacent to Clarksville.
The public schools in Clarksville are some of the best in the nation and often have more funding than private and charter schools.

History of Clarksville, MD

In 1699, Thomas Browne, a Patuxent Ranger, ranged the river from the Snowden plantation to where Clarksville is now located. The area was settled with tobacco plantations that relied on slave labor. In 1838, Dr. William Watkins of Richland Manor proposed the “Howard District” of Anne Arundel County, which became Howard County in 1851. Clarksville’s name comes from John R. Clark’s family who immigrated from Ireland to the Howard District of Anne Arundel County in 1790.

The land that he purchased included Jack Howard’s blacksmith shop, which was one of the few African American-operated blacksmiths in the county. Clarksville postal office listed the population as just 65 in the 1930s, with agriculture and limestone mining being the key industries. Numerous apple orchards were situated between Clarksville and Ashton. In 1869, the town became the terminus of the ten-mile Ellicott City and Clarksville turnpike, which was built over the old Sandy Spring road. This was a private toll road that was created at a time before county-maintained roads. It later became route 108.